The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012) – Film Review

MV5BMzIxOTQyODU1OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDQ4Mjg4Nw@@._V1._SY317_CR0,0,214,317_

I think this film nearly killed me. It nearly killed me because it really got me emotionally.

It’s about a quiet guy, Charlie (Logan Lerman), who is starting high school after a stretch in a psych ward, although we don’t know why. He is trying to get through when he accidentally makes friends with Patrick (Ezra Miller) and Sam(Emma Watson) and stumbles into a social life. But the demons that haunt him won’t stay hidden forever.

Charlie is tormented, and Logan Lerman brings out that torment so well, pulling at my heartstrings. And Emma Watson, oh bravo. I wondered what would happen with those Harry Potter kids. I thought she was fabulous in this – the character of Sam could very easily been a Manic Pixie Dream Girl*, but despite the tunnel scene that is crucial to the film but drove me nuts, she was believable.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is going to be up there with other not-quite-sadtacular films, like Garden State and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind for films that I should watch when I need to connect with my tears. Although this is nowhere near knocking off Eternal Sunshine from the number one spot in my heart.

*think Natalie Portman in Garden State, Zooey Deschanel in 500 Days of Summer and other kind of flighty silly but quirky (and often really annoying) female love interests

2 Comments

Filed under Film Reviews

2 responses to “The Perks of Being a Wallflower (2012) – Film Review

  1. I really enjoyed this – found I was a bit thrown by the twist toward the end though. Totally think Hermione should act more (not a comment I ever ever thought I would make). And how great is the cast generally?

Leave a Reply

