Goldfinger (1964) Film Review

Goldfinger-1964

I’m not sure how I’ve managed to get this far in my life without seeing Goldfinger. For that matter, I’ve only seen one of the ‘old’ Bond movies – and by old, I mean pre-Pierce Brosnan.

For the two other people on the planet who have not seen Goldfinger, it’s like most Bond films. There’s a bad guy, Goldfinger, who is obsessed with gold. He’s nasty and has women killed by covering them with gold paint so they asphyxiate. Goldfinger has a particularly nasty henchman, Oddjob, who is a mute Korean guy who throws his bowler hat to kill people. And does some mean Karate chopping. So, Goldfinger has a plan to break into Fort Knox and James Bond must thwart it. He does by *SPOILER ALERT* sleeping with a woman, Pussy Galore. Then, she takes care of the rest. Not totally proactive, James, but whatever gets the job done.

Goldfinger is what Bond should be.  A bit camp, quite ridiculous at times (I mean, Pussy Galore as the name of the Bond girl? Really?)with lots of action and great outfits. Very dated, I can’t see any way that they could make new Bonds like this, but luckily there are about four hundred others that I can make my way through. And as long as Sean Connery has the twinkle in his eye that Daniel Craig was sorely missing in Skyfall, he’ll be my choice for Bond.

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Reviews

Leave a Reply

