An Education (2009)

images-1

It’s the 1960s in London. Schoolgirl Jenny Mellor (Carey Mulligan) plays cello and is studying hard to get in to Oxford, pushed by her parents who have high ambitions for her. Suddenly, in the rain, she is swept off her feet by David Goldman (Peter Sarsgaard), an older, rich man who charms her parents into allowing her to go on sophisticated dates and even weekends abroad.

This doesn’t feel like an unfamiliar film, but I cannot say why. Certainly, the wonderful Carey Mulligan who plays the eager yet naïve schoolgirl beautifully brings it to life. It’s not a slow film, but it doesn’t race to go anywhere. Also, somehow, I wanted more from the end. I’m not sure what. I’m not sure that it could have put any more in to the end without annoying me, but I felt like I wanted just a bit more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Reviews

Leave a Reply

