Mosquita Y Mari (2012) MIFF Film Review

images

Mari shows up new to school with attitude and aggression, and somehow becomes friends with the smartest and most parent-abiding girl in her class, who she dubs ‘Mosquita’. Despite living across the road from each other, their upbringings are worlds apart.

I think I liked this film. I mean, I got a bit annoyed with a lot of the actions and reactions of many of the characters. It seemed to me like it needed a bit more work on the script.  I enjoyed the rawness of the acting, and it was a good insight into the community of Mexican immigrants. It was just that things happened very quickly and conveniently. For example, I couldn’t believe that the friendship developed so quickly from the hostility.

Despite any weaknesses in the script, it is a thoroughly enjoyable film.

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Reviews

Leave a Reply

