The Hedgehog (2009) Film Review

the hedgehog

Renee (Josiane Balasko) is a middle-aged, plain woman who has spent most of her life working as a concierge in a Paris building, keeping her interests and intelligence hidden from those around her. In the house is a young girl, Paloma (Garance Le Guillermic) who is creative and interesting and loves to hide. Then Kakuro Ozu (Togo Igawa) moves in; a Japanese man who is fascinated with both Renee and Paloma and changes their lives.

The film is based on the book by Murial Barbery, a book I’d like to read again. I recall that I disliked the book first time around, but after receiving several recommendations, I gave it a second read and really enjoyed it. I felt as though the film captured the essence of the characters, specifically Renee, but I think that I liked the film more because I liked the book. It’s one of these films that I walk away from very aware that my attitude is affected by my experience, and I find it hard to be objective. Regardless, I liked it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Reviews, Foreign Language Film

Leave a Reply

