The House That Eye Live In (2014) MIFF Review

thehousethateyeliveinfeature

Australia 52 Mins

Dirk de Bruyn has been making experimental films for over forty years, documenting his life, moving to Australia as a small child from Holland and finding his place in the world.

Experimental film can be pretty nuts – jerky, strange, and some can be really annoying. I feel about experiemental film very much as I feel about contemporary art in general – a lot I don’t get and some I don’t like, but when it works for me, I can be really moved. The work of de Bruyn which is featured within this film is no exeception – some I didn’t get, but there was a lot that I absolutely loved.

What was wonderful was seeing how he works, physically with the film. Why he made certain choices, how he took ideas and brought these to film.

I think it is a film that anyone wanted to make films should see. These days, making film like this is extremely cost prohibitive as film is so rarely used now. However, I think it is important that there is so much that can be learnt from this film.

 

The House That Eye Live In is screening at 6:30pm on Tuesday August 12 at ACMI. Book tickets at MIFF http://miff.com.au/program/search or call 9662 3722

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Reviews

Leave a Reply

