The Tenant (1976) Film Review

MV5BMTY4ODkxNjMxNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzAzMjUyMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR5,0,214,317_AL_

Trelkovsky (Roman Polanski) is an odd guy living in Paris who rents the apartment shortly after the previous tenant threw herself out the window in an apparent suicide. Apparent, like everything else in this film, but unclear.

I found this film confusing, unclear and actually quite tedious. One of my big problems was that the film is set in Paris, yet all of the characters seem very American. This may just be because they are speaking English with (apart from Polanski) a variety of strong American accents. So, I wasn’t sure if there were supposed to be Americans in Paris, or French or what. And it really bothered me throughout – I tried to get over it, but I just couldn’t. I couldn’t get into the story, I couldn’t connect with any of the characters, and the whole conspiracy thing was right out of Rosemary’s Baby (and I didn’t much like that).

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Reviews

Leave a Reply

