Vampire Academy (2014) Film Review

tumblr_static_vaaamp

It’s the film interpretation of the first of the Vampire Academy books, and I don’t know what went wrong. It’s certainly got most of the key plot, the characters are pretty much right, I feel like it should have been better. I really enjoyed the book, but the film left me cold. I know that books allow you to really get into the head of the key characters, and perhaps that is it; I didn’t get the same, strong sense of character from Rose as I did in the book. I actually think that perhaps there is just too much in the world of the book that couldn’t come out in the film; the class distance between the Moroi and the Dhampir, and the sense of real threat of the Strigoi. But big cheers for the by-line: They suck at school. Love it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Film Reviews

Leave a Reply

