An American Werewolf in London (1981) Film Review

An_American_Werewolf_in_London_Poster

I saw this when I was far too young to have seen it and have had nightmares ever since. So, I’ve avoided it for a long time. But I am so glad now that I took the time to watch it.

Essentially, two Americans are travelling in the North of England, across the moors, when they are attacked by a werewolf. One, Jack (Griffin Dunne) is killed, the other, David (David Naughton) wakes up in a London hospital being treated by a sexy nurse, Alex (Jenny Agutter). But it just doesn’t go well… as it says in the title.

I got great the delight from spotting a very young Rik Mayall in early scenes, acting his young heart out. I thought it was a fantastic film – not so much of the horror, a lot more of the funny. The bit that I remember scaring me – the first time David changes – is still tormenting, but more because I get it now, the pain that he is going through. But my favourite but are all the moments with Jack – a dead man with excellent makeup who comes back to haunt David. Funny and ace.

An American Werewolf in London won an Oscar for Best Makeup.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Film Reviews, Oscar nominated film, Oscar winning film

2 responses to “An American Werewolf in London (1981) Film Review

  1. Paul S

    An American Werewolf in London is, paws down, the best werewolf movie ever made.

Leave a Reply

