The Gift (2015) Film Review

JoelEdgertonTheGift

Top job on the writing and directing, Joel Edgerton! I shouldn’t be surprised, he’s one hell of a talent who has been around for ages, and needs to come into his own.

So, The Gift. This is a film where you do not want to reveal much, because it is such a well-paced, well-told story. Let’s just say that when Simon (Jason Bateman) and his wife Robyn (Rebecca Hall) move back to near where Simon grew up and he accidentally reconnects with a schoolmate, Gordo (Joel Edgerton), things do not go the way anyone expects.

I was totally with the characters, and while I wondered why some decisions were being made, I went with it. I was scared, I was confused, I hated each of them at different times, and I was magnificently relieved when it ended.

Don’t read anything about it. Just watch it.

2 Comments

Filed under Film Reviews

2 responses to “The Gift (2015) Film Review

  1. It didn’t work for me….I feel It didn’t live up to the hype that surrounded it…sorry 😦

    • No need to apologise to me, Mal, I didn’t have a hand in the creation of it! One thing that possibly helped me was that I knew nothing about it. I’d seen posters that had almost intrigued me, but the only reason I went was that a friend took me, and it happened that I really enjoyed the experience!

Leave a Reply

