There’s Nothing in This Book That I Meant to Say by Paula Poundstone – Book Review

51CN9LrFkEL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

Over recent years, I’ve come to know Paula Poundstone as one of the regular guests on Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me, the NPR panel show that I enjoy listening to on podcast. She’s fabulous, just so funny, and I get so excited when I hear she is on the show –  I know there is going to be at least one good rant.

This book tells a lot about her life, yet doesn’t really tell much at all. There was a legal incident some years ago that, due to the court procedures or something, she can’t talk about, but everyone kind of knows about (but I don’t) and that is a bit awful. But the rest – well, it’s like a biography where it is hard to tell truth from joke. Structurally, it’s a bit all over the shop – each chapter follows a famous figure (like Joan of Arc) and tells Poundstone’s story related to that. Only, it’s not really, or it kind of is but… It’s messy. What I found was that if I threw myself into it and got into the way she talks, I could unwind the different stories that were intwined. I think that it is interesting, but I think don’t get the book, get the audiobook. I think it is her tone that will make it work best.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

